¡¡¡THE ZONE!!!

Hmm.

Posted in Jason's Art by antonsson on July 27, 2009

Hey guys. This is a rant, a sad rant. Or a whiny rant. Whatever you want to call it, I feel like crap, and I want to tell you why I haven’t been posting (or, at least, posting relevant things.

It makes me sad how much control money has over our lives, our time. It has been a component of our culture for decades, but I never thought it would become the basis. I really, really want to continue being a part of this wonderful blog, but, as you have seen over the past several months, my commitments are elsewhere. Work is hard, cutting back on employees and hours because fewer and fewer people can afford luxuries. School is hard, it has become significantly more expensive in a very short amount of time. And I know, that’s just life and growing up… but it’s sad. It’s sad that the life of independent young adults is being consumed by the simple need to survive. I’ve worked for this company for two years and I barely make $9 an hour. I go to a community college full-time and, with tuition and essential books included, I paid about $700 for the Fall ’09 semester.

I don’t want to be a part of this culture. I don’t know how many of you readers can relate to me in my situation, but of the countless SoCal kids I’ve talked to about this over the past several months, everyone seems to be in the same situation I am. I’m gonna finish up my AA degree just to have something done then look into migrating north to Oregon for a while and stay with some family and friends.

I will post here when I can, but it will not be often, because it’s really not very often that I find time to make new art. I’m not even using free time right now, I’m typing this in History class.

Leave a Reply

